An Ogden Car Accident Lawyer Can Secure Your Compensation
There are over 50,000 car crashes in Utah every single year. These result in thousands of injuries, and possible fatalities. For the last three years in a row, car accident deaths have risen in Utah, from 256 in 2014 and 220 in 2013.
Why Are There So Many Utah Car Accidents?
In most accidents, one driver or the other is legally at fault, meaning that he failed to take reasonable steps to look out for the safety of others with whom he shared the road. In legal terms, that is defined as negligence, and when negligence can be shown to have resulted in the serious injury or wrongful death of others, a responsibility exists to compensate the wronged party for all sustained losses.
The most common causes of car accidents in Utah are the same as in other states: driver distraction. These include eating, talking on the phone, texting behind the wheel, drunk or drugged driving, driving over the speed limit or too fast for conditions, and running red lights and other violations of traffic safety laws.
Navigating Utah’s Car Accident Laws
If you or a loved one have been injured in a car accident in the Ogden, Utah, area, it is best to waste no time in contacting an experienced Ogden car accident lawyer. The laws are complex, time to file is limited, and insurers and at-fault parties do not always “play fair.” But you don’t have to settle for a low-ball offer if you understand the law.
The first hurdle you must clear under Utah law is the state no-fault insurance rule. You must demonstrate your injury cost you $3,000 or more and/or is legally defined as “serious” to gain the right to file a lawsuit.
Next, you must file your claim within 4 years of the accident date (within one year if against a government entity) or forever lose the right to file.
Finally, claims will be diminished by the percentage of fault assigned to a defendant, and if you are 50% or more at fault, your claim will be barred.
At Symco Injury Law, we can connect you to an Ogden car accident lawyer who knows how to navigate Utah‘s personal injury laws and win your case. Call 801-738-9999 today for immediate assistance.