Committed to improving Utah communities

Call or Text 24/7: 801-738-9999!

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a car accident lawyer cost?

It costs nothing to you directly. What I mean by that is, you never will receive a bill from our office, rather we simply take a percentage of what we win for you on your case at the very end. If we don’t win on your case, you owe us nothing.

How difficult is it to retain a lawyer after a car accident?

It is not difficult at all. In fact, we can often discuss your case with you right over the telephone and get started right away. This can be done sometimes in a fifteen minute phone call.

Can I get a new lawyer or law firm on my case even though I already retained a lawyer?

Yes, you are almost always permitted to change lawyers on your personal injury case. Even if you are not at the point of wanting to change lawyers, feel free to contact us for a second opinion on how your case is proceeding.

Will it cost me more to change lawyers or law firms on my case?

Not with our firm. Even though the second lawyer may be required to split some of their fee with the first lawyer for their work, this amount does not come from the client. Even in these situations of fee splitting, we are happy to represent you. Please contact us for more details.

Are there benefits available from my own insurance company when I’m in an accident and the accident was my fault?

Yes, there are benefits available from your own insurance if you have a Utah insurance policy. These are known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits. Under Utah law, PIP is required to pay the first $3,000 worth of medical bills. Some policies offer even higher medical limits. There are also essential service benefits and lost wage benefits, among others. Please contact us for more details.

Are there benefits available from my own insurance company when I’m in an accident and the accident was not my fault?

Yes, there are benefits available from your own insurance if you have a Utah insurance policy. These are known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits. Under Utah law, PIP is required to pay the first $3,000 worth of medical bills. Some policies offer even higher medical limits. There are also essential service benefits and lost wage benefits, among others. Please contact us for more details.

What if the person who caused the accident does not have insurance?

There are two issues- one involving your injuries and another involving the damage to your vehicle.

  1. For your injuries, insurance policies in Utah are required to have uninsured motorist coverage equal to the liability limits- which would be a minimum of $25,000 per person in Utah. The only exception is if you voluntarily waived the uninsured motorist coverage. Be aware that there are very specific requirements to waive the coverage, so even if your insurance company claims this coverage was waived, it is best to get the advice of an attorney. Many times the waivers are not proper and you will have uninsured motorist coverage
  2. For your vehicle damage, your own insurance will pay for the repairs or replacement  vehicle if you have full coverage, although you will still be responsible for the deductible. Also, if you elected uninsured motorist property damage coverage on your policy, your insurance will cover the repairs or replacement  vehicle, without you paying for deductible amount. If you do not have these coverages, you will have to take action directly against the person who caused the accident.

*This web site is designed for general information only. These are some of the frequently asked questions we receive. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation.  Every answer to these frequently asked questions should be discussed with a lawyer. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail.