What to Know Before Filing a Dog Bite Case
Do you need a dog bite attorney Utah residents? Have you been injured from a dog bite anywhere in the state of Utah? If so you may be entitled to compensation.
At Symco Injury Law we take personal injury seriously. We specialize in dog bite cases and the state law surrounding them.
Many residents are unsure of the statutes behind Utah law involving personal injury claims. However, if you reside in the Salt Lake City, Utah area we are definitely in reach and would be happy to help.
The personal injury laws & statutory rules that apply when dealing with a dog bite case in Utah, include:
1.) A statute of limitations that gives an individual 4 years to bring a personal injury case to court in Utah. (After 4 years the court may refuse to hear the case)
2.) “Shared fault”. In other words the party you filed against is claiming you are partly at fault for your own injuries. This may reduce the amount of damages you can recover from your claim. (If found to be more than 50% at fault you may not be able to collect any damages from the case)
3.) Utah Code Ann, § 18-1-1, makes the dog owner “strictly liable”. This means that, regardless of the animals past behavior, the dog owner is responsible for a personal injury caused by his or her dog.
If you have any questions about how to find a dog bite attorney in Utah, feel free to give us a call. We are more than happy to help answer your questions and assist you in handling your dog bite case.